Nestling beside the River Welland in the south of the district sits the town of Market Deeping and the villages of Deeping St James, West Deeping and Langtoft – collectively known as The Deepings. Originally part of an Anglo Saxon settlement, these are now thriving communities with many beautiful old buildings.
The magnificent Priory Church in Deeping St James was originally a Benedictine priory dating back to 1139 and is a fine building with a rare 18th century tower.
The 13thCentury Church of St Guthlac in Market Deeping still retains some of its Anglo Saxon features and has a tower that was built by Margaret Beaufort, the mother of Henry VII, featuring two sun dials.
There are the remains of two locks on the river in Deeping St James. These formed part of a navigation of the River Welland that was constructed in the 17th century. This, together with a six-and-a half-mile canal that connected the Deepings with Stamford, carried many boats and resulted in much wealth for the merchants of the Deepings.
The Stamford canal was in use from 1673 until 1863 and was probably the earliest, post-Roman commercial canal in England.
Two local hostelries The Bull and the Deeping Stage in Market Deeping were originally coaching inns. The Deepings has award-winning restaurants, cafes and shops to explore. Famous events include the annual Deepings Raft Race in August and The Deepings Duck Race on the river in September.